Perspectives

House Subcommittee hears testimony on Mobile Workforce Act

In this alert, we summarize H.R. 1129, the testimony of the witnesses at the hearing and the outlook for this legislation in this 113th session of Congress.

Download PDF

Read the full report.

On April 29, 2014, the U.S. House of Representatives Judiciary Subcommittee on Regulatory Reform, Commercial and Antitrust Law (the “subcommittee”) held a hearing (the “hearing”) on the Mobile Workforce State Income Tax Simplification Act of 2013 (H.R. 1129 or the “bill”). During the hearing, the Subcommittee heard testimony from four witnesses, three in support of the bill and one in opposition. As Full Committee Chairman Goodlatte stated in his opening remarks, if adopted into law, the bill “creates a bright-line thirty-day threshold to determine nonresident income tax liability . . . [and] ensures that employees will have a clear understanding of when they are liable for nonresident state income taxes and employers will be able to accurately withhold these taxes.”
 
In this alert, we summarize H.R. 1129, the testimony of the witnesses at the hearing and the outlook for this legislation in this 113th session of Congress.
 
For additional information or questions, please contact:

Jeff Kummer
Director, WNT Tax Policy
Deloitte Tax LLP
+1 202 220 2148 [Call: +1 202 220 2148]
jkummer@deloitte.com
 
Valerie Dickerson
Managing Partner, WNT Multistate
Deloitte Tax LLP
+1 202 220 2693 [Call: +1 202 220 2693]
vdickerson@deloitte.com
 
Michael Paxton
Manager, WNT Multistate
Deloitte Tax LLP
+1 202 220 2123
mpaxton@deloitte.com
 
For employment tax related questions, please contact one of the Employment Tax Consulting Services specialists below:
 
Debra Heikkinen
Director
Deloitte Tax LLP
+1 860 725 3092
dheikkinen@deloitte.com
 
Jason Russell
Director
Deloitte Tax LLP
+1 415 783 5376
jarussell@deloitte.com
 
Kevin Shimkus
Director
Deloitte Tax LLP
+1 312 486 3254
kshimkus@deloitte.com
 
Nick Broomhead
Senior Manager
Deloitte Tax LLP, Atlanta
+1 404 631 3222
nbroomhead@deloitte.com

Contact us

Contact us via our online form

Submit RFP

Submit via our online form

Find an office

Find a local office