

Cyprus | Tax & Legal Services | 15 February 2023



Cyprus Tax News

British Virgin Islands, Costa Rica, Marshall Islands and Russia added to the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes

Further to our previous <u>alert</u> on the introduction of withholding taxes (WHT) on payments to companies in jurisdictions included in the <u>EU list of non-cooperative</u> <u>jurisdictions for tax purposes</u>, we would like to inform you that on 14 February 2023 the EU Council added the British Virgin Islands, Costa Rica, Marshall Islands and Russia to the list.

The list is part of the EU's external strategy on taxation and aims to contribute to ongoing efforts to promote tax good governance worldwide.

Following these additions, the EU list now consists of 16 jurisdictions:

EU List of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes			
American Samoa	Costa Rica	Palau	Trinidad and Tobago
Anguilla	Fiji	Panama	Turks and Caicos Islands
Bahamas	Guam	Russia	US Virgin Islands
British Virgin Islands	Marshall Islands	Samoa	Vanuatu

Effectively, the jurisdictions enlisted have not managed to engage in a constructive dialogue with the EU on tax governance or failed to deliver on their commitments to implement specific reforms, covering tax transparency, fair taxation and implementation of international standards designed to prevent tax base erosion and profit shifting.

The next revision of the list is expected in October 2023.

Get in touch











© 2023 Deloitte Limited

This communication contains information, which is confidential. It is exclusively to the intended recipient(s). If you are not the intended recipient(s), please: (1) notify the sender by forwarding this email and delete all copies from your system and (2) note that disclosure, distribution, copying or use of this communication is strictly prohibited. Any erroneous disclosure, distribution or copying of this email communications cannot be guaranteed to be secure or free from error or viruses.

Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, a UK private company limited by guarantee ("DTTL"), its global network of member firms, and their related entities (collectively, the "Deloitte organisation"). DTTL (also referred to as "Deloitte Global") and each of its member firms and related entities are legally separate and independent entities, which cannot obligate or bind each other in respect of third parties. DTTL and each DTTL member firm and related entity is liable only for its own acts and omissions, and not those of each other. DTTL does not provide services to clients. Please see www.deloitte.com/about to learn more.

Deloitte & Touche (M.E.) LLP (DME) is the affiliate for the territories of the Middle East and Cyprus of Deloitte NSE LLP ("NSE"), a UK limited liability partnership and member firm of DTTL.

Deloitte Limited, a private limited liability company registered in Cyprus (Reg. No. 162812) is the sub-licensed affiliate of Deloitte NSE for Cyprus. Deloitte Limited is among the leading professional services firms in Cyprus, providing audit & assurance, consulting, financial advisory, risk advisory, tax and related services as well as a complete range of services to international business through over 750 people in Nicosia and Limassol. For more information, please visit www.deloitte.com/cy.

Offices: Nicosia, Limassol

To no longer receive emails about this topic please send a return email to the sender with the word "Unsubscribe" in the subject line.