People’s Republic of China—144-Hour Visa Free Travel in Beijing, Tianjin, and Hebei Province

Effective 28 December 2017, foreign travelers from 53 countries are permitted to visit the cities of Beijing and Tianjin as well as Hebei province for up to 144-hours without a visa.

Foreign travelers from 53 countries arriving in China at designated ports of entry in Beijing and Tianjin as well as Hebei province, while in transit to a third country, can enjoy extended visa-free stays for up to 144 hours. Previously, foreign travelers could remain in Beijing and Tianjin for up to 72 hours without a visa.

The designated ports of entry include:

  • Beijing Capital International Airport
  • Beijing West Railway Port
  • Tianjin Binhai International Airport
  • Tianjin International Cruise Home Port
  • Hebei Shijiazhuang International Airport
  • Hebei Qinhuangdao Seaport

To qualify for the visa-free stay, travelers must produce their passports, along with onward flight/train/cruise tickets with confirmed dates and seats, and must indicate the port from which they will depart. The departure must be scheduled within the 144 hour time limit, which starts at 12:01 a.m. on the day following the day of entry. Foreign travelers without proper visas can only stay in Beijing, Tianjin, or Hebei province during the visa-free period—they are not permitted to visit other areas in China.

The 53 countries covered by the 144 hour visa-free policy are as follows:

  1. European Schengen area (24 countries): Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.
  2. Other European countries (15 countries): Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Macedonia, Monaco, Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, the UK, and Ukraine.
  3. Americas (six countries): Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Mexico, and the United States.
  4. Oceania (two countries): Australia and New Zealand.
  5. Asia/Middle East (six countries): Brunei, Japan, Korea (ROK), Qatar, Singapore, and the United Arab Emirates.

Deloitte’s view
The city of Shanghai as well as Jiangsu and Zhejiang provinces introduced 144 hour visa-free transit in 2016. This option is now available to travelers arriving in the cities of Beijing and Tianjin as well as Hebei province as a way to promote international travel and boost local industries catering to both business and pleasure travelers.

Travelers are still required to apply for proper visas from the local Public Security Bureau (PSB) Exit-Entry Administration Department if they intend to remain in the designated areas for more than 144 hours or visit other areas in China.

Fandt du dette nyttigt?