Navigating towards a 'next normal’ after COVID-19

Article

Navigating towards a 'next normal’ after COVID-19

Lessons from APAC wealth managers

The dramatic impact of COVID-19 on individuals, communities, and organizations is unfortunately still unfolding. No financial institution will be immune to its effects. Firms have taken rapid action to protect themselves, their employees and their clients, and are considering how to future-proof their business for a ‘post crisis’ world.

In response to financial market turmoil, trading activities increased significantly, peaking in mid-March 2020: the average weekly trading volumes of Hong Kong's Hang Seng Index, for instance, were up almost 80%, compared with the same period in the previous year. As a result, leading wealth managers reported strong Q1 2020 results (e.g., operating income: UBS Global Wealth Management +14%, Credit Suisse International Wealth Management +6%). However, going forward, wealth managers will be facing lower valuations of client portfolios, for many the primary driver of fee income.

Based on over 25 conversations with industry leaders in the APAC region, our study found that the wealth management business model has proved its resilience. However, we noted clear differences in the way APAC firms handled the crisis. Most wealth managers applied a somewhat traditional approach, many still partially working from the office and relying on conventional communication technologies. Investment managers, FinTechs and digital leaders, on the other hand, mostly enabled location independent ways of working through digital tools granting secure remote access for employees.

In a post-crisis ‘next normal’, new and reenforced client demands and priorities will emerge, with advisory excellence, the availability of hedging strategies, as well as the confidence in the operational resilience of a wealth manager becoming important factors. To enjoy a competitive advantage in a 'next normal', a more digitally enabled front office will be a key requirement. Most prioritize digitalization around client onboarding, while leaders also digitally support the traditional human elements of the client life cycle: prospecting and client advisory. In the long run, wealth managers will benefit significantly from efficiencies from increased digitalization – contributing to a much needed increase in profitability.

Overall, the global COVID-19 pandemic has not fundamentally altered the industry's strategic imperatives, but will further accelerate the difference between winning wealth managers that explore innovative edge business models, increase their operational agility and engage digitally with their clients – and other firms with a more reactive approach that may struggle increasingly in a wealth management industry that is bound to be even more competitive in a ‘next normal’.

Navigating towards a 'next normal’ after COVID-19 - Lessons from APAC wealth managers

Navigate the crisis, emerge stronger, and prepare for the next normal

To help global financial services leaders navigate the crisis, we have developed a COVID-19 framework consisting of three phases.

Wealth management is a relationship driven industry. But we need to build platforms and push digital channels, now more than ever.
Client executive, Global Wealth Manager (present across APAC)

Contacts

Pascal Martino
Partner – Banking Leader
Tel: +352 45145 2119
pamartino@deloitte.lu

Pascal Eber
Partner – Operations Excellence & Human Capital
Tel: +352 45145 2649
peber@deloitte.lu

Martin Flaunet
Partner – Banking Audit Leader
Tel: +352 45145 2334
mflaunet@deloitte.lu

Raphaël Charlier
Partner – PSF Leader
Tel: +352 45145 2258
rcharlier@deloitte.lu

Eric Centi
Partner – Financial Services Tax
Tel: +352 45145 2162
ecenti@deloitte.lu

Pierre-Jean Estagerie
Partner – Global Employer Services
Tel: +352 45145 4940
pjestagerie@deloitte.lu

Frank Lichtenthaeler
Partner – Strategy, Regulatory & Corporate Finance
Tel : +352 45145 4387
flichtenthaeler@deloitte.lu

Michael Holzmann
Partner – Technology & Enterprise Application
Tel : +352 45145 3283
miholzmann@deloitte.lu

Charlotte Hittelet
Director – Operations Excellence & Human Capital
Tel : +352 45145 2763
chittelet@deloitte.lu

Erika Bourguet
Director – Strategy, Regulatory & Corporate Finance
Tel : +352 45145 3045
ebourguet@deloitte.lu

Julien Schaffner
Director – Operations Excellence & Human Capital
Tel : +352 45145 3472
jschaffner@deloitte.lu

Xavier Turquin
Senior Manager – Business Transformation
Tel : +352 45145 4229
xturquin@deloitte.lu

Insert CSS fragment. Do not delete! This box/component contains code needed on this page. This message will not be visible when page is activated.

Did you find this useful?