Media releases

Deloitte Top 200 Award Winners Announced for 2018

Awards went to the best of New Zealand businesses and leaders

21 November 2018 – The winners of the 2018 Deloitte Top 200 awards have been crowned – with the who’s who of the New Zealand business industry in attendance at the prestigious awards ceremony.

The evening, held at Spark Arena in Auckland, acknowledged business excellence and noteworthy leadership across 10 award categories. The finalists and winners of the 2018 Deloitte Top 200 awards are listed below.

This year’s event theme was ‘The Power of Purpose’, which celebrates companies with a strong sense of purpose and the courage to embrace change.

Judging panel convenor Fran O'Sullivan, NZME Editorial Director - Business, says the organisations and individuals that received awards this evening are extremely impressive, representing the best of New Zealand innovation and business.

The Deloitte Top 200 judges selected Zespri International as the Deloitte Digital & Marsh 2018 Company of the Year.

O'Sullivan says, “Zespri lifted its profits by 38 per cent to $101.8m in 2018 on $2.4b of sales, and it expects higher returns still in 2019. These returns represent the culmination of its long-term strategy and dedication to innovation. Over the past five years, Zespri’s total shareholder return has increased at a compound average rate of 80 per cent per annum. The kiwifruit industry is a great example of how to add value to primary sector exports and a classic New Zealand innovation success story.”

Deloitte and ServiceNow Chief Executive of the Year was awarded to Russel Creedy from Restaurant Brands New Zealand Limited. “Restaurant Brands’ ability to grow domestically while expanding overseas through new acquisitions has seen its value steadily increase in 2018,” says O’Sullivan.

“Restaurant Brands is headed by Russel Creedy, and its successful overseas expansion has been skillfully executed with sustained momentum. Creedy’s leadership style has evolved over the years, and with a strong team in place and local operations performing well he’s been able to spend more time on strategic thinking. This has enabled Restaurant Brands to make expansive – and thus far highly lucrative – moves into Australia and Hawaii, which will underpin ongoing growth for the company.”

The Sheffield Visionary Leader title was awarded to Dr. Marilyn Waring, for her pioneering work on the economic importance of women’s unpaid work, and focus on the inequalities of globalisation. This is the only award that isn’t shortlisted prior to the event.

Deloitte Chief Executive Thomas Pippos said, “We are constantly inspired by the high calibre of winners at the Deloitte Top 200 awards and this year is no exception. These individuals and organisations have the vision and courage to tackle the big issues, lead by example and successfully steer their organisations and our economy into the future.”

NZME Chief Executive Michael Boggs says partnering with the Deloitte Top 200 awards is something NZME is proud of.

“NZME would like to congratulate all winners and finalists. We are a company that loves to champion inspiring people, and these awards showcase New Zealand businesses and leaders doing great things. This year’s winners have shown us exceptional examples of businesses and individuals determined to be the best and do the best for our country.”

Without the support of the following sponsors the awards would not be possible:  Deloitte, The New Zealand Herald, Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment, Deloitte Digital, 2degrees,, Eagle Technology, MinterEllisonRuddWatts, Sheffield, Marsh and ServiceNow.  Thank you for recognising the value of these awards.


2018 Deloitte Top 200 Award Winners


Deloitte Digital and Marsh Company of the Year

WINNER: Zespri International


·        Restaurant Brands New Zealand Limited

·        Tatua Co-operative Dairy Company


Deloitte and ServiceNow Chief Executive of the Year

WINNER: Russel Creedy – Restaurant Brands New Zealand Limited


·        Fraser Whineray – Mercury NZ

·        Xavier Simonet - Kathmandu


Chief Financial Officer of the Year

WINNER: Jon Raby – ASB Bank


·        Mark Royle – Freightways Limited

·        Nigel Greenwood – Synlait Milk


New Zealand Herald Chairperson of the Year

WINNER: Peter McBride – Zespri International


·        Liz Coutts – Ports of Auckland

·        David Pilkington – Port of Tauranga


MinterEllisonRuddWatts Excellence in Governance

WINNER: Sanford


·        Trade Me

·        Ports of Auckland


Eagle Technology Young Executive of the Year

WINNER: Caroline Rawlinson – Trade Me


·        Tasha Impey – TVNZ

·        Kayn Miller – Chorus


2degrees Best Growth Strategy

WINNER: Fulton Hogan


·        Delegat Group Limited

·        Skyline Enterprises Most Improved Performance

WINNER: Skellerup Holdings Limited


·        Kathmandu

·        Kordia Group


Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment Diversity and Inclusion Leadership

WINNER: SKYCITY Entertainment Group Limited


·        Vodafone NZ

·        Downer


Sheffield Visionary Leader

WINNER: Marilyn Waring



About Deloitte Top 200

29 Years of Business excellence. The Deloitte Top 200 Awards were established in 1990 and are held annually to recognise and applaud outstanding individual and management team performances among New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations. From the Top 200 index, significant contenders are identified for a series of awards. As Deloitte has varying professional relationships with many of the Top 200 organisations, it is not involved in determining the Top 200 awards finalists or winners. An independent, thorough and comprehensive judging process follows with the winners announced at a black tie event held annually in November/December.

About NZME

NZME is a leading New Zealand media and entertainment business that reaches more than 3.2 million kiwis. Whether reading, listening or watching, our audience gets the content they want - where and when they want it. NZME offers advertisers a unique opportunity to access its growing audience via a fully integrated multi-platform presence. NZME is listed on the NZX Main Board (code NZM) with a foreign exempt listing on the ASX (code NZM).

Media Contact:

Alexandra Grace
Communications Manager
Deloitte New Zealand
04 470 3770

Did you find this useful?