Media releases

2019 Deloitte Top 200 Celebrates Kiwi businesses shaping the future

21 October 2019 – Transport, energy, data and retail companies are amongst the diverse group of great New Zealand businesses named as finalists in the Deloitte Top 200 Awards for 2019.

Chosen from New Zealand’s top companies, this year’s finalists have been recognised for their focus on shaping the future - companies that are thriving on the opportunities presented by innovation and globalisation.

“It is encouraging to see such a diverse group of finalists, all of whom are embracing innovation and digitisation, and creating sustainable, purpose-led organisations. These companies will shape the next 30 years of the Top 200, and it’s fantastic that we can celebrate their achievements at the awards,” said Deloitte CEO Thomas Pippos.

New Zealand Media and Entertainment’s Head of Business Content Fran O’Sullivan has returned as judge’s convenor as the Deloitte Top 200 Awards celebrates its 30th anniversary.

“While business has always faced constant change and opportunity, now more so than ever, business leaders must focus on not just making money, but how their enterprise supports the environment, our society and the communities that they do business in. That makes these finalists all the more remarkable,” said O’Sullivan.

This year’s judging panel includes Dame Alison Paterson, Jonathon Mason, Neil Paviour-Smith, Cathy Quinn, Ross George, Liam Dann, Chris Moller, Theresa Gattung, Scott Pickering and Jo Cribb.

“These awards are really about celebrating outstanding leadership. Our finalists are individual executives, corporate leaders and companies that all New Zealand can look to for inspiration and guidance as our world continues to evolve and the business community continues to traverse new frontiers,” said judge Neil Paviour-Smith (Managing Director Forsyth Barr).

The awards would not be possible without the support of award partners Eagle Technology, University of Auckland Business School, Hobson Leavy Executive Search, 2degrees, MinterEllisonRuddWatts, Marsh, Service, Deloitte Digital and

A full list of finalists can be found below and here. The winners will be revealed at a prestigious gala event being held at Auckland’s Spark Arena on the 5th December. Tickets can be purchased here.

The evening will also include two special awards – “Visionary Leader” and “Executive of the Decade”.



Deloitte Top 200 Award Finalists


Deloitte Digital and Marsh Company of the Year


·        Meridian Energy

·        Mainfreight

·        Delegat


Deloitte and ServiceNow Chief Executive of the Year


·        Volker Kuntzsch, CEO – Sanford

·        David Mair, CEO – Skellerup

·        Fraser Whineray, CEO – Mercury


The University of Auckland Chief Financial Officer of the Year


·        Phillippa Harford, CFO – Infratil

·        Rob Hamilton, CFO – SkyCity Entertainment Group

·        Grant Ellis, CFO – Restaurant Brands


Hobson Leavy Executive Search New Zealand Herald Chairperson of the Year


·        David Pilkington, Chair – Port of Tauranga 

·        Pip Dunphy, Chair – Transpower New Zealand

·        Graeme Milne, Chair – Synlait Milk 


MinterEllisonRuddWatts Sustainable Business Leadership


·        Air New Zealand 

·        Mercury 

·        Z Energy 


2degrees Best Growth Strategy


·        Xero 

·        Datacom Group 

·        Scales Corporation  


Most Improved Performance


·        The Warehouse Group

·        WEL Networks 

·        SkyCity Entertainment Group  

Eagle Technology Young Executive of the Year


·        James Magill, Executive General Manager – Retail Markets, Genesis Energy 

·        Amelia Rentzios, Plant Manager – OMV New Zealand 

·        James David, Account Director & Enterprise Portfolio Manager – Datacom Group 


Diversity and Inclusion Leadership


·        Spark 

·        Downer Group

·        Stuff 


Visionary Leader

Announced at the awards


Executive of the Decade

Announced at the awards


About Deloitte Top 200

29 Years of Business excellence. The Deloitte Top 200 Awards were established in 1990 and are held annually to recognise and applaud outstanding individual and management team performances among New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations. From the Top 200 index, significant contenders are identified for a series of awards. As Deloitte has varying professional relationships with many of the Top 200 organisations, it is not involved in determining the Top 200 awards finalists or winners. An independent, thorough and comprehensive judging process follows with the winners announced at a black tie event held annually in November/December.

About NZME

NZME is a leading New Zealand media and entertainment business that reaches more than 3.2 million kiwis. Whether reading, listening or watching, our audience gets the content they want - where and when they want it. NZME offers advertisers a unique opportunity to access its growing audience via a fully integrated multi-platform presence. NZME is listed on the NZX Main Board (code NZM) with a foreign exempt listing on the ASX (code NZM).

For Media Queries:

Please email the Deloitte Top 200 team at

Did you find this useful?