Te Hāpai Hāpori | Spirit of Service Awards 2020

Celebrating outstanding public sector governance, young leaders and initiatives that deliver great outcomes

Te Kawa Mataaho - Public Service Commission's (previously known as State Services Commission) annual Spirit of Service Awards celebrate outstanding public sector governance, young leaders and initiatives that deliver great outcomes motivated by a spirit of service to the community.

The awards are open to organisations across central and local government, including Crown entities. Entries can come from single agencies or collaborative initiatives, which may include partners outside the public sector.

This year's awards celebration were on Monday 9 November 2020, and Deloitte was once again proud to sponsor the Better Outcomes Award category, one of seven awards presented on the night. This award celebrates the achievement of ground-breaking outcomes in areas that matter most for the long-term wellbeing of New Zealanders.

In this category, judges look for initiatives demonstrating spirit of service through:

  • new and better approaches to addressing a significant social, economic or environmental challenge important to New Zealanders
  • the achievement of tangible results that will make a difference in the long term
  • improving responsiveness to communities and whānau/families
  • a unified approach to working across government.

This year two finalists were selected as the joint winners of the Better Outcomes Award for their extraordinary work supporting New Zealand during COVID-19. Their combined efforts made an impact that matters for our country.

The winners are:

  • The Ministry of Social Development for their people centric response to COVID-19, ensuring their clients could still get access to the vital support services they provide
  • Inland Revenue, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, Ministry of Social Development and Treasury, for their exceptional cross-agency support for New Zealand business during the lockdown.

Congratulations to this year’s winners for their outstanding service to New Zealand.

Visit the Te Kawa Mataaho - Public Service Commission's website for full details.

Did you find this useful?