Deloitte IPANZ Public Sector Excellence Awards

Recognising and sharing excellence, achievement and best practice across the public sector

Explore content

Deloitte is proud to have been principal sponsor of the IPANZ Public Sector Excellence Awards. As a foundation partner of IPANZ, we are committed to supporting excellence in public policy, administration and management in the sector.

The awards look for entries from all areas of the public sector, covering groups and individuals, and internal and external initiatives. It provides a platform for organisations to learn more about the projects, cultures and policies which are shaping the future of the sector.

From 2019, the State Services Commission will be leading the awards, which will be renamed the Spirit of Service Awards.

2018 Awards

The winners were announced at the TSB Arena in Wellington to 400 public sector leaders on the 25 July. Speakers included Minister Grant Robertson, Ludo Campbell-Reid, Auckland Council’s Design Champion and a video address from Prime Minister Ardern.

  • Prime Minister’s Award for Public Sector Excellence & Excellence in Achieving Collective Impact
    Ministry of Education, Tertiary Education Commission, Ministry of Social Development and Inland Revenue - Delivering Fees-free Tertiary Education for 2018
  • Building Trust and Confidence in Government
    Government Communications Security Bureau – Project CORTEX
  • Excellence in Crown-Māori Relationships
    NZ Transport Agency – Waikato Expressway Rangiriri section
  • Excellence in Improving Public Value through Business Transformation
    Electoral Commission - Taking it to the People – Transforming the General Election
  • Excellence in Digital Government
    Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment - Establishment of CERT NZ
  • Excellence in Regulatory Systems
    Ministry of Justice, Department of Internal Affairs, Reserve Bank of New Zealand, Financial Markets Authority, New Zealand Customs and Inland Revenue Department - Anti-Money Laundering and Countering Financing Terrorism
  • Excellence in Public Sector Engagement
    Gisborne District Council - WTF Tairawhiti: Long Term Plan Early Engagement Campaign
  • Excellence in Improving Diversity And Inclusiveness within the Public Sector
    New Zealand Police - Transforming NZ Police Recruitment to Drive Diversity
  • Young Professional of the Year
    Waitemata District Health Board - Dr Eleri Clissold

Find out more

See the full list of nominations and winners photos on the awards website.

Find out more on the Awards website