UAE–KSA double tax treaty is now in force

Are you prepared?

On 23 May 2018, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) signed an agreement for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income and on capital Double Tax Treaty (DTT).

This agreement represents the first DTT among Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Members. The DTT entered into force on 1 April 2019 and it generally applies from 1 January 2020. The DTT might offer potential reduction or an exemption from the KSA domestic withholding tax (WHT) with respect to payments made from KSA to UAE.

Did you find this useful?