Suspension of visa stickers for 12 more countries

Suspension of visa stickers for 12 more countries

08 August 2023 - The Saudi Ministry of Foreign Affairs, announced through the Saudi General Authority for Civil Aviation (GACA) the suspension of the issuance of visa stickers in the passports of foreign nationals applying for a Saudi visa from select countries.

The visa sticker is replaced by a printable QR code, which is used to validate the authenticity of the e-visa and contains the traveler’s information. The procedure is aimed at improving the visa-granting mechanism, including visit, work, and residence visas, making the process more efficient and streamlined. 

This procedure initially announced in May was for seven countries, namely, Bangladesh, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Jordan, the Philippines, and the United Arab Emirates. 

The authorities have now also included twelve more countries to the list, namely, Kenya, Lebanon, Morocco, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Thailand, Türkiye, Uganda, Vietnam, and Yemen.

Deloitte’s view

This procedure is a positive step towards achieving the goals outlined in the Vision 2030 plan, which seeks to improve and boost the country's economy. The new mechanism of granting visas will be more efficient and streamlined, reducing the application processing timelines.

We believe the replacement of visa stickers with printable QR codes will make the process more convenient for applicants and eliminate the risk of lost or damaged stickers. Overall, this procedure will enhance the quality of consular services and improve the immigration process for all parties involved. 

Did you find this useful?