2018 Deloitte Tax Championship


2018 Deloitte Tax Championship

Deloitte Tax Championship is an international competition organized by Shanghai Deloitte Tax Ltd. and Deloitte Tax Research Foundation for university students across Greater China region. It aims at promoting collaborations among government agencies, academics, professional services providers, and taxpayers, and developing professionals with the "3i" attributes – providing insightful solutions, adopting an integrated approach and offering innovative ideas. Launched in 2004, the competition has attracted more than 3,000 elite students from many top universities across Greater China in the past years.

2018 Deloitte Tax Championship arrangement

The 2018 Deloitte Tax Championship includes 2 phases:

The finalist teams will be selected according to the result of Phase I Regional Competition.

The Phase I Regional Competition will be in multiple-choice format, which focuses on PRC tax and relevant regulations, and also tests students' English proficiency and logic capacity.

The Phase II National Competition will be case study, which focuses on International tax and relevant regulations. It will also examines students' English proficiency, and their understanding of cutting-edge knowledge. On day 1 of semifinal competition, the finalist teams will go through the challenge of a simulated business case by presenting in front of a panel of judges. The judges will then rank these teams according to their performance. On day 2 of final competition , the top 3 finalist teams will do another round of presentation for a new simulated business case to decide the champion, 1st runner up and 2nd runner up among them.


Competition rules

Students from invited universities shall visit the designated website to register for Phase I Regional Competition. After registration, students need to log in to the official online competition platform during the specified time-slot to participate in the contest.

Each invited university shall choose four students from Phase I participants to form a team for Phase II National Competition, taking into account students' performance during Phase I and their comprehensive capability.

A total of 13 finalist teams, including 9 highest-scoring teams from Mainland China, 2 top teams from Hong Kong S.A.R. and Macau S.A.R., and 2 top teams from Taiwan during Phase I Regional Competition, will qualify for Phase II National Competition.

Deloitte will announce the list of 13 finalist teams in early September.




Money Award (RMB)

Other Awards  



Champion Trophy; Certificate of award; Deloitte recruitment incentive; and internship in Deloitte HK (for Mainland China students) or Deloitte China (for students from HK S.A.R. / Macau S.A.R. / Taiwan)

*Deloitte will cover the flight tickets and accommodations for students

First    Runner-up


Winner Trophy; Certificate of award; Deloitte recruitment incentive; and guaranteed Deloitte internship opportunity

Second Runner-up


Winner Trophy; Certificate of award; Deloitte recruitment incentive; and guaranteed Deloitte internship opportunity

Outstanding Awards

(3 teams)


Winner Trophy; Certificate of award; Deloitte recruitment incentive; and Deloitte internship opportunity

Merit Award

(7 teams)


Winner Medal; Certificate of award; Deloitte recruitment incentive; and Deloitte internship opportunity

Other participating teams


Certificate of participation; Deloitte recruitment incentive; and Deloitte internship opportunity 

*Remark: all above-mentioned recruitment incentive and internship opportunity only apply to Deloitte Tax and Business Advisory team. Deloitte reserves all rights of recruitment and internship arrangements.


Qualification and participants

Deloitte Tax Championship is open to students from invited universities. Each university shall nominate minimum 4 and maximum 20 students to join the Phase I Regional Competition. Eligible participants must be taking the full-time undergraduate or master programs at the time of registration and over the period of competition.

Each invited university shall then nominate one team, comprising of four students (at most two Mater students) qualified from Phase I Regional Competition, to register for Phase II National Competition. All four members of each team must participate in the Phase II National Competition.



Please contact the Championship Coordinator of your university for enrollment information.


List of invited schools

There are 71 top universities in 32 cities of the Greater China Region invited to join the 2018 Deloitte Tax Championship. Below is a list of the invited universities (listed in alphabetical order):

From the Chinese Mainland:

From Hong Kong,
Macau and Taiwan:

Anhui Finance and Economics University

Nanjing University of Finance & Economics

Lingnan University

Beijing Jiaotong University

Nankai University

The University of Hong Kong

Beijing Technology and Business University

Northeastern University

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Beijing Institute of Technology

Ocean University of China

City University of Hong Kong

Capital University of Economics & Business

Peking University

Hong Kong Shue Yan University

Central University of Finance & Economics

Qingdao University

The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

China University of Political Science and Law

Renmin University of China

Hong Kong Baptist University

Chongqing University

Shandong University

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Dongbei University of Finance & Economics

Shanghai International Studies University

Hang Seng Management College

East China University of Political Science and Law


Shanghai University of Finance & Economics

University of Macau

Fudan University

Sichuan University

Macau University of Science & Technology

Guangdong University of Finance

Soochow University

Fu Jen Catholic University

Guangdong University of Finance & Economics

South China University of Technology

Chun Yuan Christian University

Guangdong University of Foreign Studies

Southwestern University of Finance & Economics

Soochow University (Taipei)

Harbin Institute of Technology

Sun Yat-sen University

National Taipei University of Business

Harbin University of Commerce

Tianjin University of Commerce

Tunghai University

Hebei University of Economics and Business

Tianjin University of Finance & Economics

National Taipei University

Huazhong University of Science & Technology

Tsinghua University

National Taiwan University

Hunan University

University of International Business & Economics

National Cheng Kung University

Jiangxi University of Finance & Economics

Wuhan University

National Chengchi University

Jilin University

Xiamen University

National Changhua University of Education

Jilin University of Finance and Economics

Xi'an Jiaotong University


Jinan University

Yunnan University of Finance & Economics


Minjiang University

Zhejiang University


Nanjing Audit University

Zhongnan University of Economics & Law



More details about the Championship will be announced soon. 

Please stay tuned for the updates on our website and below social media platforms! Thanks for your support. 

  • Weibo
  • Facebook
  • WeChat ID: 德勤税务精英挑战赛 (please scan the QR code)

If you have any inquiries, please contact us at taxchampionship@deloitte.com.cn.

Did you find this useful?