A recap of Deloitte Tax Championship 2017

Deloitte Tax Championship 2017 came to a successful conclusion in the Westin Wuhan on 5th November. This year’s competition attracted participation from 63 universities in 32 cities of the Greater China Region. Below is the list of the participating teams (listed in alphabetical order):

From the Chinese Mainland:

From Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan:

Anhui Finance and Economics University

Nanjing Audit University

Chun Yuan Christian University

Beijing Jiaotong University

Nanjing University of Finance & Economics

City University of Hong Kong

Beijing Technology and Business University

Northeastern University

Fu Jen Catholic University

Capital University of Economics & Business

Ocean University of China

Hang Seng Management College

Central University of Finance & Economics

Qingdao University

Hong Kong Shue Yan University

Chongqing University

Shandong University

Lingnan University

Dongbei University of Finance & Economics

Shanghai International Studies University

Macau University of Science & Technology

East China University of Political Science and Law

Shanghai University of Finance & Economics

National Changhua University of Education

Fudan University

Sichuan University

National Chengchi University

Guangdong University of Finance

Soochow University

National Cheng Kung University

Guangdong University of Finance & Economics

South China University of Technology

National Taipei University

Guangdong University of Foreign Studies

Southwestern University of Finance & Economics

National Taipei University of Business

Harbin Institute of Technology

Sun Yat-sen University

National Taiwan University

Harbin University of Commerce

Tianjin University of Commerce

The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Hebei University of Economics and Business

Tianjin University of Finance & Economics

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Huazhong University of Science & Technology

University of International Business & Economics

The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

Hunan University

Wuhan University

The University of Hong Kong

Jiangxi University of Finance & Economics

Xiamen University

Tunghai University

Jilin University

Xi'an Jiaotong University

University of Macau

Jilin University of Finance and Economics

Yunnan University of Finance & Economics


Jinan University

Zhejiang University


Minjiang University

Zhongnan University of Economics & Law



This year's competition included 2 phases: phase I of the National Tax Law Knowledge Contest and phase II of the Deloitte Tax Championship Group Contest Final.  The National Tax Law Knowledge Contest was an online contest, which focused on PRC tax and relevant regulations. The Deloitte Tax Championship Group Contest Final was an onsite contest, which focused on the practice of International Tax.

With a commitment to supporting the State Administration of Taxation's imperative to further elevate the general public's understanding, awareness, and deliberation on taxation, this year’s Deloitte Tax Championship had innovated its competition rules. Phase I of the Championship was conducted online across the Greater China region in collaboration with the 2017 National Tax Knowledge Contest organized by the China Certified Tax Agents Association (CCTAA) and the China Certified Tax Agents Tongxin Service League.

After phase I of the National Tax Law Knowledge Contest, 13 finalist teams entered phase II of the Deloitte Tax Championship Group Contest Final. The finalist teams were comprised of 9 from mainland China, 2 from Hong Kong SAR & Macau SAR and 2 from Taiwan.  The finalist teams were elected by the ranking of the 4 team members' total scores in phase I contest. The top 9 teams in mainland, together with 2 teams in Hong Kong SAR & Macau SAR, and 2 teams in Taiwan entered phase II of the championship.

The phase II contest was held in Wuhan from November 4th to November 5th. 13 finalist teams were invited to a welcome dinner where they met tax professionals from Deloitte China offices in the evening of November 3rd. Each team went through the challenge of a simulated business case in the morning of November 4th, followed by an oral presentation before a judge panel in the afternoon. They presented their solutions and answered questions from their respective judge panel. The judge panels then decided the top 3 finalists, 3 outstanding awards and 7 merit awards teams according to their performances. In the morning of November 5th, the top 3 finalists competed against each other again in an extra round of competition to decide the Champion, second place and third place.

In the following championship award luncheon ceremony of November 5th, Ms. Vivian Jiang, Deputy CEO of Deloitte China and Managing Partner of Tax and Business Advisory Services for the Greater China Region, shared her insights with teachers, students, and industry peers at the Championship on how professional services providers are transforming themselves and leading the innovation against the revolutionary tide of artificial intelligence (AI). Vivian said, “What we do today to nurture tomorrow's talents becomes the high level proposition of the professional service industry to enhance its foundation. It has been 14 years since Deloitte has launched the Championship. While remaining committed to our original aspiration of talent development, we have been keeping up with the times by transforming and innovating the competition rules, information release and engagement channels, case design, and internship programs up to another level. In this digital era, we spare no efforts to drive talent of tomorrow with 3i attributes - 'insightful', 'integrated' and 'innovative' - to make an impact that matters!”

Mr. Li Linjun, Vice President and the Secretary-general of CCTAA also attended the award luncheon ceremony. He spoke highly of the seamless collaboration between the National Tax Knowledge Contest and the Deloitte Tax Championship, and expressed his expectations on the future development of the tax industry.

The top honor of the 2017 Deloitte Tax Championship went to Shanghai University of Finance & Economics. The first runner-up was Huazhong University of Science & Technology and the second runner-up was Zhongnan University of Economics & Law. The outstanding teams were National Taiwan University, the University of Hong Kong, and Yunnan University of Finance & Economics. The merit teams were Chongqing University, Jilin University of Finance and Economics, Macau University of Science & Technology, Nanjing Audit University, National Chengchi University, Southwestern University of Finance & Economics and Tianjin University of Commerce.

Photo Gallery

Did you find this useful?