A recap of Deloitte Tax Championship 2015

Case study competition

Deloitte Tax Championship 2015 came to a successful conclusion in Chongqing on 25th October. This year’s competition attracted participation from 66 universities in 30 cities of the Greater China Region. Below is the list of the participating teams (listed in alphabetical order):

From the Chinese Mainland:
From Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan:
  • Beijing Jiaotong University
  • Beijing Technology and Business University
  • Capital University of Economics & Business
  • Central University of Finance & Economics
  • China University of Political Science and Law
  • Chongqing University
  • Dongbei University of Finance & Economics
  • Fudan University
  • Guangdong University of Finance
  • Guangdong University of Finance & Economics
  • Guangdong University of Foreign Studies
  • Harbin Institute of Technology
  • Harbin University of Commerce
  • Hebei University of Economics and Business
  • Huazhong University of Science & Technology
  • Hunan University
  • Jiangxi University of Finance & Economics
  • Jilin University
  • Jilin University of Finance and Economics
  • Jinan University
  • Minjiang University
  • Nanjing Audit University
  • Nanjing University of Finance & Economics
  • Nankai University
  • Northeastern University
  • Ocean University of China
  • Peking University
  • Renmin University of China
  • Shandong University
  • Shanghai International Studies University
  • Shanghai University of Finance & Economics
  • Sichuan University
  • Soochow University
  • South China University of Technology
  • Southwestern University of Finance & Economics
  • Sun Yat-sen University
  • Tianjin University
  • Tianjin University of Commerce
  • Tianjin University of Finance & Economics
  • University of International Business & Economics
  • Wuhan University
  • Xiamen University
  • Xi’an Jiaotong University
  • Yunnan University of Finance & Economics
  • Zhongnan University of Economics & Law
  • Chung Yuan Christian University
  • City University of Hong Kong
  • Fu Jen Catholic University
  • Hang Seng Management College
  • Hong Kong Baptist University
  • Hong Kong Shue Yan University
  • Lingnan University
  • Macau University of Science & Technology
  • National Changhua University of Education
  • National Cheng Kung University
  • National Chengchi University
  • National Taipei University
  • National Taipei University of Business
  • National Taiwan University
  • Soochow University (Taipei)
  • The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
  • The University of Hong Kong
  • Tunghai University
  • University of Macau


The group competitions were held in Beijing, Dalian, Shanghai, Wuhan, Guangzhou, Hong Kong and Taipei simultaneously on August 29th 2015. All participating teams were divided into five groups. Teams from the Chinese Mainland were divided into Groups 1 to 3 by a draw while teams from the Hong Kong SAR and the Macau SAR were in Group 4. Teams from Taiwan were in Group 5. On the group competition day, each team submitted a summary of their solutions for a simulated business case in the morning and took part in the quiz section in the afternoon. The 13 teams entering the national final competition included 9 from the Chinese Mainland, plus 4 from Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan.

The national competition was held in Chongqing on October 25th 2015. 13 finalist teams were invited to a welcome dinner where they met tax professionals from Deloitte China offices on the eve of competition day. The three-hour break-out session was held in the morning of the competition day, followed by an oral presentation in the afternoon. Teams were divided into three groups. They presented their solutions and answered questions from their respective judge panel. Each judge panel decided top 2 teams of their group according to their performance. The Champion, second place and third place teams were finally chosen from the top 6 teams by all judges by watching their video and rating their performance.

After the end of national competition, teachers and students visited the Deloitte Global Delivery Center (GDC) located in Chongqing with great interest.

On the next day of national competition, teachers and students attended the "Rule by law in Taxation" Forum themed "Taxation By Law And Enforcement Of Good Laws In Good Faith". They discussed vigorously China's tax reform within the framework of "rule by law" and China's progress of rule by law in taxation in the emerging domestic and overseas landscape, together with leading scholars, seasoned practitioners from tax and legal profession, tax officials and senior corporate executives.

In the following championship award luncheon ceremony, Deloitte China Country Tax Leader Ms. Vivian Jiang made a speech on the new approach for honing the next generation of professionals in support of the sustainable development of the industry. Mr. Li Linjun, Vice President and the Secretary-general of China Certified Tax Agents Association (CCTAA) then made a keynote speech. He spoke highly of Deloitte's contribution towards tax talent development via the Championship all these years. He pointed out, "The new normal has laid on the table the new requirements of the tax industry, and the advanced reform of tax system, tax collection and management, along with tax legislation has generated unprecedented new opportunities for the faster and better development of the tax industry."

The top honor of the 2015 competition went to Shanghai University of Finance & Economics. The first runner-up was Sun Yat-sen University and the second runner-up was Zhongnan University of Economics & Law. The outstanding teams were National Chengchi University, Xiamen University and Shandong University. The merit teams were Ocean University of China, Jiangxi University of Finance & Economics, Southwestern University of Finance & Economics, Minjiang University, National Taiwan University, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, and Hong Kong Baptist University.

Essay competition

Students were invited to write an essay in Chinese on PRC tax hot topics. Of the 36 entries received from students studying for full-time master's or PhD programs, eight were shortlisted. The shortlisted writers gathered in Chongqing on October 25th 2015 to present their essays before a panel of judges in the final stage. Winners of the Best Paper Awards (not in order of ranking) were:

  • Zhiwei Tian of Shanghai University of Finance & Economics
  • Zhou Wu of Nanjing University of Finance & Economics
  • Chun Geng/Zhongkuang Zhao of Peking University)


Did you find this useful?