2014 Deloitte Tax Championship Case study competition: group competitions

Announcement of participating school list and result for 2014 group competitions

Results of 2014 group competitions

The group competitions of Deloitte Tax Championship 2014 were completed in Beijing, Dalian, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Wuhan, Hong Kong and Taipei on 30 August 2014. 13 out of the 64 universities participating in the group competitions will proceed to the national competition on 25 October in Shanghai, China.

The 13 teams entering the national competition are (listed in alphabetical order):

  • Guangdong University of Foreign Studies
  • Huazhong University of Science and Technology
  • Jiangxi University of Finance & Economics
  • Nanjing University Of Finance & Economics
  • National Chengchi University
  • Peking University
  • Shanghai University of Finance & Economics
  • Soochow University
  • Southwestern University of Finance & Economics
  • Sun Yat-sen University
  • The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • University of Macau
  • Zhongnan University of Economics & Law


All participating teams are divided into five groups. Teams from the Chinese Mainland are divided into Groups 1 to 3 by a draw while teams from the Hong Kong SAR and the Macau SAR are in Group 4 and Taiwan in Group 5.

The group competitions are held in different Chinese cities on the same day (30 August). Shanghai Deloitte Tax Ltd. and Deloitte Tax Research Foundation sponsor the travelling and accommodation expenses of participating teams travelling from locations outside the respective hosting cities.

The case study section is held in the morning. Each participating team is provided with a simulated business case. After a briefing, members of each team gather in an assigned room, discuss the case and draft an executive summary of their solutions. Each team has to submit their executive summary at the end of the morning session. In the afternoon, all the groups take part in the quiz section.

A panel of judges determines the winning teams of each group; the results are announced within one week.

Language: Chinese

Participating teams

The 2014 competition attracted participation from 64 universities in 30 cities of the Greater China Region. Below is the list of the participating teams (listed in alphabetical order):

From the Chinese Mainland:
From Hong Kong, 
Macau and Taiwan:
  • Beijing Jiaotong University
  • Beijing Technology and Business University
  • Beijing University of Technology
  • Capital University of Economics & Business
  • Central University of Finance & Economics
  • China University of Political Science and Law
  • Chongqing University
  • Dongbei University of Finance & Economics
  • Fudan University
  • Guangdong University of Business Studies
  • Guangdong University of Finance & Economics
  • Guangdong University of Foreign Studies
  • Harbin Institute of Technology
  • Harbin University of Commerce
  • Hebei University of Economics and Business
  • Huazhong University of Science & Technology
  • Hunan University
  • Jiangxi University of Finance & Economics
  • Jilin University
  • Jilin University of Finance and Economics
  • Jinan University
  • Nanjing Audit University
  • Nanjing University of Finance & Economics
  • Nankai University
  • Northeastern University
  • Ocean University of China
  • Peking University
  • Renmin University of China
  • Shandong University
  • Shanghai International Studies University
  • Shanghai University of Finance & Economics
  • Soochow University
  • South China Normal University
  • Southwestern University of Finance & Economics
  • Sun Yat-sen University
  • Tianjin University of Commerce
  • Tianjin University of Finance & Economics
  • Tsinghua University
  • University of International Business & Economics
  • Wuhan University
  • Xiamen University
  • Xi’an Jiaotong University
  • Zhejiang University
  • Zhongnan University of Economics & Law
  • Chung Yuan Christian University
  • City University of Hong Kong
  • Fu Jen Catholic University
  • Hong Kong Baptist University
  • Hong Kong Shue Yan University
  • Lingnan University
  • Macau University of Science & Technology
  • National Changhua University of Education
  • National Cheng Kung University
  • National Chengchi University
  • National Taipei College of Business
  • National Taipei University
  • National Taiwan University
  • Soochow University (located in Taipei)
  • The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
  • The University of Hong Kong
  • Tunghai University
  • University of Macau


Did you find this useful?